The Clinton Main Street Program was established in 1982 and celebrated its 30th anniversary last year defining a vision and plan of work for Downtown Clinton. The plan seeks to realize the vision by guiding the promotion and preservation of downtown, and by facilitating the strengthening and recruitment of downtown businesses. Four working Main Street Committees – Design, Promotion, Economic Restructuring, and Organization – were established in the fall of 2012 to accomplish the plan of work, and a Farmers’ Market Subcommittee was recently developed from the Economic Restructuring committee to expand the farmers’ market in downtown.

Please contact Mary Rose, Clinton-Sampson Planning Director/Main Street Manager at: mmr@cityofclintonnc.us, or Jake Palant, Planner at: jpalant@cityofclintonnc.us, for more information on Downtown Clinton.

The board of the Clinton Development Corporation serves as the Advisory Board for the Clinton Main Street Program. Current members include:

Beth Stewart, president

Greg Thornton, president-elect

Ed Carr, treasurer

Frank Butler, secretary

Cary Taylor

Johnny Pridgen

Aaron Wilson

Each of the Main Street committees is working steadily to achieve their goals and objectives laid forth in the Clinton Main Street Program’s Plan of Work.

    • Organization:
      • Goal: To achieve a structure for the betterment of downtown to activate and maintain public-private partnerships.
      • Objective: To facilitate the growth of an economically viable downtown Clinton.
      • Members: Beth Stewart, Greg Thornton, Ed Carr, Frank Butler, Cary Taylor, Aaron Wilson, Johnny Pridgen
    • Promotion:
      • Goal: To create awareness of downtown Clinton and its diverse offerings.
      • Objective: To bring people downtown and create a destination for opportunities.
      • Members: Kay Raynor, Tonya Parrish, Bryan Griffin, Deborah Thompson, Deborah Harn, Eva Thornton, Shawn Purdie
    • Design:
      • Goal: To create an inviting downtown atmosphere at all times.
      • Objective: To encourage business and residential development while maintaining historic character.
      • Members: Denise Edge, Debbie Roberts, Beth Stewart, Wendy Carr, Julie Stadig, Chasity Herring, Glenda Underwood, Rachel Chavez, Stacy McNeil
    • Economic Vitality:
      • Goal: To make downtown an attractive investment opportunity
      • Objective: To maintain and grow the economic viability of downtown for current and future generations.
      • Members: Sherri Smith, Amanda Bradshaw, Kaitlin Norris, Zach Raynor

Historic Preservation Commission:

The heart of downtown has been designated as both a National Register Historic District and local historic district. The National Register designation may assist in applications for historic rehabilitation tax credits from the state and federal governments. The local historic district designation exists to preserve the historic integrity and atmosphere of the downtown core.

All properties in the District are subject to the Historic District Design Guidelines, which were adopted by the Historic Preservation Commission in December 2003 and are available for reference online and at our office (227 Lisbon Street).

One important part of the Design Guidelines is the review of proposed changes to properties in the District to ensure the historic character of the District is maintained. Certain kinds of work – namely, changes to exterior appearance, design, or materials, including signage – done on the outside of a building within the district require a stamp of approval called a Certificate of Appropriateness, which is issued by the Historic Preservation Commission. Please contact our office at (910) 299-4904 if you have any questions, or if you are considering doing work on the exterior of your building.

Current members of the Historic Preservation Commission: Frank Bradshaw, Albert Kirby, Jr., Debbie Roberts, Susan Heath, Jan Tart, and Kenneth Buffkin, Jr.